Placeholder Picture

Tel: 07922-126154

2020 Beginners Fly Fishing Course Dates and AW Boat Handling Course Dates available now ...   for more information go to the Game - AW Beginners' Group page ...


Game - Beginners Fly Fishing and Improvers Days 2020

Placeholder Picture

If you want to start fly fishing or are already on your way, our fly fishing courses will help you get to grips with the basics. The courses are run throughout the year, on weekdays and at weekends.

Experienced and qualified Angling Trust instructors offer a full day’s tuition and cover the skills and tactics which the beginner needs to learn. 

All equipment and licences are provided. If you have your own tackle, please bring it. We can assess its suitability for reservoir fishing. We will discuss, demonstrate and teach you:

Tying knots and leaders
Casting
Fly selection and Fly-tying
Tackle selection
Basic fishing techniques

We will cover all this in the morning and spend the afternoon putting your newly acquired knowledge into practise. The cost including refreshments and a light lunch is £88.00 for an adult, £67 for juniors (14 to 17 years). Find a suitable date and then book a course by calling the fishing lodge at your chosen venue. There will be a maximum of six students on any course. On completing the course you will be entitled to buy a Starter Season Permit – an offer only available to our students. The cost for the AW Boat Tuition course is £52.00, based on two anglers sharing the boat. To see more about AW Boat Tuition, please click here.

The courses will be available at Rutland, Grafham and Pitsford waters, with the day starting at 10.00am. To book on one of these very popular courses, please call the fishing lodge of your preferred venue, Rutland Water on 01780 686441 or Grafham Water on 01480 810531 or Pitsford on 01604 781350.


Rutland Water

Placeholder Picture

March 2020
Sunday 8th March
Thursday 12th March
Saturday 21st March
Thursday 26th March

April 2020
Sunday 5th April
Saturday 11th April
Saturday 18th April
Thursday 23rd April
Monday 27th April - (Boat Handling Course)
Saturday 25th April

May 2020
Tuesday 6th May - (Boat Handling Course)
Friday 8th May
Friday 15th May
Tuesday 19th May - (Boat Handling Course)
Thursday 21st May
Wednesday 27th May - (Boat Handling Course)
Sundayday 31st May

June 2020
Saturday 6th June
Friday 12th June
Wednesday 17th June - (Boat Handling Course)
Thursday 18th June
Monday 22nd June - (Boat Handling Course)
Wednesday 24th June
Monday 29th June - (Boat Handling Course)

July 2020
Tuesday 7th July - (Boat Handling Course)
Saturday 11th July
Tuesday 14th July
Monday 20th July - (Boat Handling Course)
Sunday 26th July

August 2020
Saturday 1st August
Sunday 16th August
Monday 17th August - (Boat Handling Course)
Saturday 22nd August
Sunday 30th August

September 2020
Friday 4th September
Sunday 6th September
Tuesday 15th September - (Boat Handling Course)
Saturday 12th September
Sunday 20th September
Wednesday 23rd September
Tuesday 29th September - (Boat Handling Course)

October 2020
Friday 2nd October
Saturday 10th October
Wednesday 14th October - (Boat Handling Course)
Friday 16th October
Monday 19th October - (Boat Handling Course)
Sunday 25th October
Wednesday 28th October

November 2020
Monday 2nd November - (Boat Handling Course)
Sunday 8th November

December 2020
Sunday 6th December

Placeholder Picture

Grafham Water

Placeholder Picture

February 2020
Sunday 23rd February
Saturday 29th February

March 2020
Sunday 15th March
Friday 20th March
Wednesday 25th March

April 2020
Saturday 4th April
Wednesday 8th April
Friday 17th April
Sunday 26th April
Tuesday 28th April - (Boat Handling Course)

May 2020
Sunday 3rd May
Tuesday 5th May - (Boat Handling Course)
Sunday 10th May
Sunday 17th May
Monday 18th May - (Boat Handling Course)
Saturday 23rd May
Tuesday 26th May - (Boat Handling Course)
Friday 29th May

June 2020
Sunday 7th June
Monday 8th June - (Boat Handling Course)
Saturday 13th June
Tuesday 16th June - (Boat Handling Course)
Friday 19th June
Tuesday 23rd June - (Boat Handling Course)
Friday 26th June

July 2020
Wednesday 1st July - (Boat Handling Course)
Sunday 5th July
Friday 10th July
Thursday 16th July
Fridayday 31st July

August 2020
Tuesday 4th August - (Boat Handling Course)
Sunday 9th August
Saturday 15th August
Tuesday 18th August - (Boat Handling Course)
Friday 21st August
Saturday 29th August

September 2020
Sunday 13th September
Monday 14th September - (Boat Handling Course)
Friday 18th September
Thursday 24th September

October 2020
Sunday 4th October
Saturday 11th October
Monday 12th October - (Boat Handling Course)
Thursday 15th October
Tuesday 20th October - (Boat Handling Course)
Saturday 24th October
Tuesday 27th October - (Boat Handling Course)
Friday 30th October

November 2020
Tuesday 3rd November - (Boat Handling Course)
Friday 6th November

December 2020
Saturday 5th December

Placeholder Picture

Pitsford Water

Placeholder Picture

March 2020
Sunday 1st March
Saturday 14th March
Sunday 22nd March
Saturday 28th March

April 2020
Wednesday 1st April
Tuesday 14th April
Sunday 19th April
Wednesday 29th April - (Boat Handling Course)

May 2020
Saturday 9th May
Saturday 16th May
Wednesday 20th May - (Boat Handling Course)
Sunday 24th May
Saturday 30th May

June 2020
Tuesday 9th June - (Boat Handling Course)
Sunday 14th June
Sunday 21st June
Thursday 25th June
Tuesday 30th June - (Boat Handling Course)

July 2020
Monday 6th July - (Boat Handling Course)
Sunay 12th July
Friday 17th July
Saturday 25th July

August 2020
Sunday 2nd August
Wednesday 3rd August - (Boat Handling Course)
Saturday 8th August
Friday 14th August
Wednesday 19th August - (Boat Handling Course)
Sunday 23rd August
Friday 28th August

September 2020
Thursday 10th September
Wednesday 16th August - (Boat Handling Course)
Saturday 19th September

October 2020
Saturday 3rd October
Friday 9th October
Tuesday 13th October - (Boat Handling Course)
Wednesday 21s October - (Boat Handling Course)
Saturday 31st October

November 2020
Wednesday 4th November - (Boat Handling Course)
Saturday 7th November

Placeholder Picture