Placeholder Picture

Tel: 07922-126154

Placeholder Picture

Introduction to Boat Fishing with Anglian Water

Boat Handling Courses 2022
If you are unsure about how to work the boat and fishing correctly from the boat, these days will prove invaluable.

An experienced and competent instructor will spend time with you on all aspects of safety, control of the engine, the effect of weather conditions and your own comfort, so that you obtain the most enjoyment from a day in a boat.

The instructor will spend three hours with you and you can then continue fishing for the rest of the day. After the instructor has left, you can continue fishing for the rest of the day and put into practice all that you have learnt. Eight fish limit.

Cost is £52.00 per angler based on two anglers sharing the boat.

You and a fishing partner can now spend 2½ hours with a qualified fishing instructor, and learn how to handle and fish from an Anglian Water outboard fishing boat.

Start at 10am from Rutland Water (Tel:01780 686441), Grafham Water (Tel: 01480 810531) or Pitsford (Tel: 01604 781350).

Cost £52.00 each angler, based on two anglers sharing the boat.

After the instructor has left, you can continue fishing for the rest of the day and put into practice all that you have learnt. Eight fish limit.

If you do not have a fishing partner, we can try and find you one of a similar standard. How 'Boating' things have changed since the Victorian times, as shown in the print to your left! Learn to handle and fish from a boat correctly. Improve your catch rate and your enjoyment.

All bookings are made via the lodge, so please contact the fishing lodges at the above 3 waters for more details and dates. For any more information or questions relating to any of our courses, please use our eForm by clicking here or telephone Peter directly on 07922-126154.


Placeholder Picture

The AW Boat syllabus covers ...

1) Fishing Equipment, Engine, Boat Equipment, Boat Seats, Throttle, Oars, Other Water Users, Choke and Anchor.

2) Structures on Water: Buoys, Towers, etc, Pull Cord and Drogue.

3)Sun Block / Glasses / Water, Gears and Bilge Pump.

4) Weather, Thunder, Lightning and Wind, Steering, Rowlocks, Alcohol, Kill Cord and Bailer.

5) Clothing/Boots, Fishing Tactics and Rudder Fishing (Rutland & Pitsford only)


Rutland Water
2022 Course Dates

April 2022
Tuesday 19th April
Monday 25th April

May 2022
Wednesday 4th May
Tuesday 17th May
Wednesday 25th May

June 2022
Tuesday 7th June
Wednesday 15th June
Monday 20th June
Monday 27th June

July 2022
Tuesday 5th July
Monday 18th July

August 2022
Monday 1st August
Monday 8th August
Tuesday 22nd August

September 2022
Tuesday 6th September
Tuesday 13th September
Monday 26th September

October 2022
Wednesday 12th October
Tuesday 18th October
Monday 24th October

November 2022
Tuesday 1st November
Monday 7th November


Grafham Water
2022 Course Dates

April 2022
Monday 18th April
Tuesday 26th April

May 2022
Tuesday 3rd May
Monday 16th May
Monday 23rd May

June 2022
Monday 6th June
Tuesday 14th June
Tuesday 21st June
Wednesday 29th June

July 2022
Wednesday 6th July

August 2022
Tuesday 2nd August
Tuesday 9th August
Monday 23rd August


September 2022
Monday 5th September
Monday 12th September
Tuesday 27th September

October 2022
Monday 10th October
Monday 17th October
Tuesday 25th October

November 2022
Wednesday 2nd November
Tuesday 8th November



Safe Start - AW Boat Safety Video - Part 1


Safe Start - AW Boat Safety Video - Part 2 - Basic Watercraft